Free Rhode Island Real Estate Practice Exam Questions (May 2024) 50+

Rhode Island Real Estate Exam

1 / 50

Is commingling legal in Rhode Island?

2 / 50

According to Rhode Island Fair Housing Law, which is not a protected class?

3 / 50

Under agency law in Rhode Island, Dual Agency is

4 / 50

A housing discrimination charge must be filed within how long?

5 / 50

Regardless of the case; what is the most that one can be paid out of the Rhode Island Real Estate Recovery Fund?

6 / 50

Clare is selling a home. She found out the homeowner named Thomas has AIDS. Is she required to disclose the fact Thomas has AIDS to the public?

7 / 50

A real estate broker representing a seller knows that the property has a cracked foundation and that its former owner took their own life on the property. According to Rhode Island Law, what must the broker disclose?

8 / 50

Per the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act of Rhode Island, tenants have the right to repair an issue themselves within their apartment after how many days (not including emergencies)?

9 / 50

Per Rhode Island Law, what is the penalty imposed on a person for a SECOND-time offense acting as a broker or as a salesperson without first obtaining a license?

10 / 50

In terms of financing involved for a real estate purchase, which custom is practiced in Rhode Island?

11 / 50

Do you have to be a resident of Rhode Island to obtain a real estate license?

12 / 50

A Rhode Island broker and seller came to an agreement. The agreement was the seller wanted to clear $100,000 when the house was sold, and the broker could keep the rest. The broker accepted the listing and sold it for $175,000. The broker gave $100,000 to the seller and kept the rest. Which of the following statements is true about this situation?

13 / 50

How many members does the Rhode Island Real Estate Commission have?

14 / 50

Is Rhode Island a Community Property state?

15 / 50

Per Rhode Island law, how many days notice does a landlord need to give the tenant for a rental increase?

16 / 50

The Department of Business Regulation will add a fee to the next license renewal date if the balance of the Rhode Island Real Estate Recovery Fund falls below what number?

17 / 50

An unlicensed office manager for a local real estate firm is responsible for coordinating the flow of paperwork through the office and hiring and supervising clerical personnel. The office manager is what?

18 / 50

Per Rhode Island License Law, within how many days should the principal broker pay the salesperson once they have received the commission check?

19 / 50

The law in all states that provides contracts for the sale of real estate or an interest in real estate are unenforceable unless they are in writing and signed by the parties:

20 / 50

When a broker is listing a home and asks the seller to complete a property condition disclosure, which of the following statements is true regarding Rhode Island Property Disclosure?

21 / 50

To obtain a broker’s license in Rhode Island, how many years must an applicant be licensed?

22 / 50

How many hours of continuing education are required for Rhode Island real estate licensees?

23 / 50

Which of the following would be considered commingling?

24 / 50

Which of the following is a violation of Rhode Island license law?

25 / 50

Per the Residential Landlord and Tenant Act of Rhode Island, a landlord cannot demand a security deposit in an amount higher than how many months' worth of rent?

26 / 50

Per Rhode Island Law, what is the penalty imposed on a person for a FIRST-time offense acting as a broker or as a salesperson without first obtaining a license?

27 / 50

Per Rhode Island Law, what is the penalty imposed on a corporation for a FIRST-time offense acting as a broker or as a salesperson without first obtaining a license?

28 / 50

What Rhode Island law covers landlord-tenant relations?

29 / 50

An individual named Jenny wants to sell her own house. Which of the following statements is true regarding the sale of property in Rhode Island and Jenny’s situation?

30 / 50

Under Rhode Island law, at which point is a broker allowed to put a For-sale sign on a property?

31 / 50

Nick is an agent and has been working as one for 20 years. He just got happily married. After many years in his apartment, he decides to finally purchase a house for himself and his new wife. According to Rhode Island license law, what must he do?

32 / 50

In Rhode Island, if a person believes that they have been illegally discriminated against, they may file a complaint with who?

33 / 50

Per Rhode Island License Law, all of the following provisions must be included in listing agreements aside from what?

34 / 50

If a licensee has their errors and omissions insurance canceled or interrupted within how many days must they notify the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation?

35 / 50

Keith is a landlord. He is looking to lease one of his apartments. He puts an ad in the paper for $1,000 a month. Matt hears about the ad and calls up Keith. Matt is legally blind and has a seeing-eye dog. After learning this information, what is the maximum deposit Keith can require Mason to pay for the lease?

36 / 50

Which of the following statements is true regarding licensees advertising real estate in Rhode Island?

37 / 50

How long must real estate brokers keep records in Rhode Island?

38 / 50

Who issues real estate licenses in the state of Rhode Island?

39 / 50

Per Rhode Island Real Estate Law, “Engaging in the real estate business” consists of acting for another for a fee in all of the following activities EXCEPT:

40 / 50

According to Rhode Island, Fair Housing Law, which of the following is a protected class?

41 / 50

Preceding their nomination to the commission in order to be eligible to serve the Rhode Island Real Estate Commission members must be residents of Rhode Island for at least how long?

42 / 50

For a month-to-month tenancy, a landlord must provide how long of notice for eviction?

43 / 50

Rhode Island real estate license law requires that all listings must contain what?

44 / 50

Per Rhode Island Law, what is the penalty imposed on a corporation for a SECOND-time offense acting as a broker or as a salesperson without first obtaining a license?

45 / 50

With how many days must a criminal conviction be reported to the Rhode Island Real Estate Department?

46 / 50

What does the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation director have the authority to do?

47 / 50

For a year-to-year tenancy, a landlord must provide how long of notice for eviction?

48 / 50

Rhode Island has real estate license reciprocity agreements with which states?

49 / 50

Generally speaking, when a Rhode Island salesperson receives an escrow deposit what should they do?

50 / 50

Who funds the Rhode Island Real Estate Recovery Fund?

Your score is

Hello, welcome to our Rhode Island Real Estate Practice Exam.

This free practice exam is here to help you master the state-specific portion of the Rhode Island real estate exam. 

In Rhode Island, there are 130 questions on the exam (80 on the national portion and on the 50 state portion).

For help with the national portion, we have our national real estate practice test. That section can be used to study the topics featured on those 100 questions. 

For help with the state portion you're in the right place! This section can be used to study the topics featured on those 50 questions.  

The two most effective study tools for the Rhode Island state exam portion are using real estate practice exams and learning Rhode Island state-specific license laws.

Our state-specific real estate practice exam is a fantastic tool to help you grasp your state's real estate topics. It works just like our national real estate practice exam and is updated annually. 

Usually, using the state practice exam is enough for students to grasp the concepts. However, if you want more, the single most important resource out there is the laws they base the questions on. If you haven't looked at your state's Real Estate Statutes or Regulations, it's strongly recommended.

The test makers take snippets of laws applicable to your state and use them for the questions. We use the actual state laws to create our questions, which is why some of the questions may look familiar to you. Some websites and prep providers do not, and that's the secret. You need to know your state's laws. 

Furthermore, It would be best if you read through your laws at least once, and that's the greatest advice we can give you. Trust us, we know it can be very time-consuming, but reading through each one of these will provide you with precisely the information you need to pass. 

Best of luck, reach out if you need anything,

Real Estate License Wizard Team

Rhode Island Real Estate Statutes and Regulations

Here is our list of recommended Real Estate Statutes and Regulations you need to know:

NOTE: State websites update semi-frequently and sometimes their website URLs change. If any of the links posted below do not work, please reach out and we will update the links promptly. Thank you.


Rhode Island’s Real Estate Exam FAQ’s

Have a question about the real estate exam? Find the answers to all your real estate license questions here:

What are Rhode Island’s Real Estate License Requirements?

Real estate license requirements vary from state to state. Here are Rhode Island’s requirements:

  • Must be 18 years or older.
  • Must complete a background check.
  • Must complete required state approved pre-licensing courses (45 credit hours).
  • Estimated cost of total fees and license: $140 / $145

How Hard is the Rhode Island Real Estate Exam?

The real estate exam is a rigorous and challenging test that weeds out those who are not committed to being skilled agents. To pass the exam in Rhode Island, you’ll need to get a scaled score of at least 70%. With a total of 130 questions (80 national and 50 state), that means the score to pass is 56 for the national and 35 for the state. 

How Many Questions Can You Miss on the Rhode Island Real Estate Exam?

In Rhode Island, you can miss 24 questions on the national and 15 on the state and still pass the real estate exam.

How Many Times Can You Take the Rhode Island Real Estate Exam?

You can take the Rhode Island licensing exam an unlimited amount of times, but it must be passed within one year after passing through the 45-hour pre-licensing course.


What Is on the Rhode Island Real Estate Exam?

The 130 multiple-choice questions on the salesperson examination cover a variety of topics that are relevant to Rhode Island real estate license law. Here are what topics you are expected to know:

Rhode Island Portion Salesperson:

  1. Rhode Island Real Estate Commission and Licensing Requirements
  2. Rhode Island Laws Governing the Activities of Licensees
  3. Rhode Island Real Estate Agency
  4. Rhode Island Specific Real Estate Principles and Practices
  5. Rhode Island Fair Housing Law

Rhode Island National Portion Salesperson:

  1. Property Ownership
  2. Land Use Controls and Regulations
  3. Valuation and Market Analysis
  4. Financing
  5. General Principles of Agency
  6. Property Disclosures
  7. Contracts
  8. Leasing and Property Management
  9. Transfer of Title
  10. Practice of Real Estate

Want Rhode Island Real Estate Exam Prep?

Between our real estate practice exams, real estate prep, and educational video lessons – there is no better way to prepare for your exam day. 

We’ve seen our students get results countless times so we’re proud to stand behind our content. Your success is everything to us, which is why we offer a no-questions-asked 30-day money-back guarantee. 

We’ve helped thousands of motivated people pass their real estate exams and make their dreams come true. Ready to get started?